Roger Thayer Stone Center For Latin American Studies

Tulane University

People at SCLAS

Welcome to Tulane’s Stone Center for Latin American Studies, one of the world’s premier programs for the study of Latin America and the Caribbean. Our interdisciplinary B.A., M.A., and Ph.D. programs provide basic education and training for both academic and professional careers.

CLAS students gain comprehensive knowledge about Latin America through a mixture of academic study, specialized training and research abroad. Our program embraces linguistic fluency, fieldwork, and direct engagement in Latin America and the Caribbean as essential to critical consciousness. The program encourages comparative studies that provide a more profound understanding of differences among socio-cultural systems developed within Latin America, as well as of differences between Latin American systems and others throughout the hemisphere and globe.

From its foundation in 1834, Tulane University has pursued a mission of advancing progressive and cutting-edge study and research in Latin America. Our core faculty of seventy Latin Americanists represents the largest contingent of faculty associated with any department or program at the University. Students and faculty benefit from the holdings of the Latin American library and a network of contacts with public officials, non-governmental organizations and academic leaders in Latin America.

Please contact me or drop by our offices if you would like more information. I would enjoy introducing you to our staff, arranging for you to tour our campus, and discussing with you how Latin American Studies at Tulane can be part of your future.


Tom Reesetreese@tulane.edu
Executive Director

Stone Center Staff


Daniela Alvarezcalvare2@tulane.edu
Administrative Secretary


Ludovico Feolilfeoli@tulane.edu
Executive Director, Center for Inter-American Policy & Research


James D. Huck, Jr.jhuck@tulane.edu
Assistant Director for Graduate Programs


Suyapa Inglésingles@tulane.edu
Assistant Director, Administration


Ana Lópezlopez@tulane.edu
Director, Cuban and Caribbean Studies Institute
Associate Provost


I. Carolina Caballeroicaballe@tulane.edu
Associate Director, Cuban and Caribbean Studies Institute
Lecturer, Department of Spanish and Portuguese


Valerie J. McGinleyvmcgmar@tulane.edu
Director of Planning and Management


Edith Wolfeewolfe@tulane.edu
Assistant Director for Undergraduate Programs


Denise Woltering-Vargasdwolteri@tulane.edu
Senior Program Manager, Educational and Community Programs


Hannah Palmerhpalmer@tulane.edu
Program Manager for Academic Programs


Riley Moran
rmoran2@tulane.edu
Media and Communications Specialist

LATEST SITE UPDATES

NEWS

EVENTS